Saturday 04th July 2015,
Balltribe

NCAA Bowl Schedule Released, No New Year’s Day Game

June 18, 2011 – Dr. Crackback

If you’re like me, you’ll plan on sitting around New Year’s Day, fighting off a hangover and wondering where your car is while crashing on the couch and watching some Bowl games.

Well, not this year. The NCAA has released its 2011-12 Bowl schedule and because New Year’s Day ends up on Sunday there will be no bowl games. That day is reserved for the NFL which may or may not have a season this fall.

My guess is there will be a season for the NFL but if not that makes the first time I can think of with no pigskin on New Year’s Day.

That means five Bowl games will be moved to Jan. 2 — the Gator, Outback, Capital One, Ticket City and Rose. Overall, there are 35 Bowl on the schedule which will be played over 23 days. They all kick off with the New Mexico, Humanitarian and New Orleans bowls on Saturday, Dec. 17.

Here is the complete Bowl Schedule.  Hope you have ESPN. [via]

Sat., Dec. 17 2 p.m. ET New Mexico Bowl Albuquerque, N.M. ESPN
Sat., Dec. 17 5:30 p.m. ET uDrove Humanitarian Bowl Boise, Idaho ESPN
Sat., Dec. 17 9 p.m. ET R+L Carriers New Orleans Bowl New Orleans, La. ESPN
Tue., Dec. 20 8 p.m. ET Beef ‘O’Brady’s Bowl St. Petersburg St. Petersburg, Fla. ESPN
Wed., Dec. 21 8 p.m. ET San Diego Co. Credit Union Poinsettia Bowl San Diego, Calif. ESPN
Thu., Dec. 22 8 p.m. ET MAACO Bowl Las Vegas Las Vegas, Nev. ESPN
Sat., Dec. 24 8 p.m. ET Sheraton Hawaii Bowl Honolulu, Hawaii ESPN
Mon., Dec. 26 5 p.m. ET AdvoCare V100 Independence Bowl Shreveport, La. ESPN2
Tue., Dec. 27 4:30 p.m. ET Little Caesars Pizza Bowl Detroit, Mich. ESPN
Tue., Dec. 27 8 p.m. ET Belk Bowl Charlotte, N.C. ESPN
Wed., Dec. 28 4:30 p.m. ET Military Bowl presented by Northrop Grumman Washington, D.C. ESPN
Wed., Dec. 28 8 p.m. ET Bridgepoint Education Holiday Bowl San Diego, Calif. ESPN
Thu., Dec. 29 5:30 p.m. ET Champs Sports Bowl Orlando, Fla. ESPN
Thu., Dec. 29 9 p.m. ET Valero Alamo Bowl San Antonio, Texas ESPN
Fri., Dec. 30 12 p.m. ET Bell Helicopter Armed Forces Bowl *Dallas, Texas ESPN
Fri., Dec. 30 3:20 p.m. ET New Era Pinstripe Bowl New York, N.Y. ESPN
Fri., Dec. 30 6:40 p.m. ET Franklin American Mortgage Music City Bowl Nashville, Tenn. ESPN
Fri., Dec. 30 10 p.m. ET Insight Bowl Tempe, Ariz. ESPN
Sat., Dec. 31 12 p.m. ET Meineke Car Care Bowl of Texas Houston, Texas ESPN
Sat., Dec. 31 2 p.m. ET Hyundai Sun Bowl El Paso, Texas CBS
Sat., Dec. 31 3:30 p.m. ET AutoZone Liberty Bowl Memphis, Tenn. ABC
Sat., Dec. 31 3:30 p.m. ET Kraft Fight Hunger Bowl San Francisco, Calif. ESPN
Sat., Dec. 31 7:30 p.m. ET Chick-fil-A Bowl Atlanta, Ga. ESPN
Mon., Jan. 2 12 p.m. ET TicketCity Bowl Dallas, Texas ESPNU
Mon., Jan. 2 1 p.m. ET Capital One Bowl Orlando, Fla. ESPN
Mon., Jan. 2 1 p.m. ET Gator Bowl Jacksonville, Fla. ESPN2
Mon., Jan. 2 1 p.m. ET Outback Bowl Tampa, Fla. ABC
Mon., Jan. 2 5 p.m. ET Rose Bowl Game presented by VIZIO Pasadena, Calif. ESPN
Tue., Jan. 3 8:30 p.m. ET Allstate Sugar Bowl New Orleans, La. ESPN
Wed., Jan. 4 8 p.m. ET Discover Orange Bowl Miami Gardens, Fla. ESPN
Thu., Jan. 5 8:30 p.m. ET Tostitos Fiesta Bowl Glendale, Ariz. ESPN
Fri., Jan. 6 8 p.m. ET AT&T Cotton Bowl Arlington, Texas FOX
Sat., Jan. 7 1 p.m. ET BBVA Compass Bowl Birmingham, Ala. ESPN
Mon., Jan. 9 8:30 p.m. ET Allstate BCS National Championship Game New Orleans, La. ESPN
TBA TBA GoDaddy.com Bowl Mobile, Ala. ESPN

*The 2011 Bell Helicopter Armed Forces Bowl, hosted in Fort Worth, Texas, is being played in Dallas due to stadium renovations.

Like this Article? Share it!